Join our family in our love for music and the lyrics of life.

The VonTrapp Family SingersSwirling around like a mental patient!

In about 1966 we lived in Blytheville Arkansas on Cherry Street in a house with pink siding which we to this day call “the pepto bismol house”. It was during this time that I learned to ride a bicycle and enjoyed playing with our neighborhood friends. I was very young, only four years old. Our neighbors were the Glasscocks and we played with their children quite a bit. Debra Glasscock was a couple of years older than me and was closer to Lisa’s age. Debra and I got into a fight one day and she ended up at the Dr’s office getting stitches because I had bitten a plug out of her arm! But as children go, we didn’t play together for a while, and we got over it much quicker than our parents did.

One of the best things about living next to the Glasscocks was that their Dad was the manager at the Ritz Theatre downtown, so every once in a while on Saturday afternoons we would get to go to the movies with them for free. I saw the Jungle Book and several others, but the most amazing movie I saw was The Sound of Music. The image of Julie Andrews swirling around on the mountain top was larger than life. The singing children were amazing to me. I wanted to be a VonTrapp family singer just like them. I sat in the front row and watched every moment of the movie without missing a beat. I was smitten by the scenery and the music. I was too young to really understand what the whole movie was about politically, but it didn’t matter, I was in love with the music. I loved it so much, as a matter of fact, that I remained in my seat after the movie ended so I could watch it again. Just as the camera was zooming in on “Maria” swirling on the mountain, Lisa grabbed my arm and pulled me kicking and screaming out of the theatre to go home. I didn’t care that people were watching,  I screamed and yelled “NO” all the way out the door. To this day, The Sound Music has remained my favorite musical. I fell in love with it then, and I secretly love it still. (Shhhh… don’t tell!)

Comments on: "The Sound of Screaming" (1)

  1. I introduced Heather to the Sound of Music when she was in her early teens. She was resistant, but finally to stop me nagging her and i believe to relieve boredom..she sat down and watched it. I remember her raving about it to some friends, convincing them to watch it and never understanding why her friends weren’t enthralled as she had been…until then,,I also thought this was a movie that every single person loved as I did. Thanks for remembering that particular enchantment from our childhood.

Leave a Reply

